Okay, it all started with a birthday invitation for a boy turning 6 and a girl turning 3 coming up in two weeks.

I wanted to create something that they can use and enjoy. I embarked upon a journey over my laptop looking for ideas. After twenty or so reading blogs and viewing vlogs (kinda), I decided to make a crayon roll. I also thought of using not so expensive fabric just yet. Instead I made a prototype with left over fabric. I used the measurements in this video and used a canvas cloth for stuffing. Here’s a snap shot of the first roll:

crayon roll wheels 2     crayon roll 3crayon roll wheels           crayon roll wheels closed

I wasn’t satisfied with the short length of the roll. I also am wondering how to add another pocket to keep some paper or a small note pad in it. The fabric I used for stuffing didn’t help with the shape of the roll. Also crayon pockets needed to be more than just an inch wide.

I was so itchy that I gave it another try the same day right after I made the first one. This time I used licensed fabric but up-cycled it from a pillow case. I added another 5 – 6 inches to the length and 4 inches to the width. I also used felt for stuffing.

Here are the results. Get ready Thomas and Friends fans to be blown away!

thomas roll 1   thomas roll 2

thomas roll

Lesson from my second try: I would use batting for stuffing as the felt created a thick padding around corners.

I have yet to add another pocket for keeping paper. Let me know what you think and if and how I can improve it.

Till next blog!